The Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Promoting excellence in the Pharmaceutical Sciences sector.

APS Announces New Chair for 2024/2025

14th November 2023

The APS is delighted to announce that the new APS Chair for 2024 and 2025 will be Professor Ryan Donnelly.

Professor Ryan Donnelly holds the Chair in Pharmaceutical Technology at Queen’s University Belfast and is Director of QUB’s interdisciplinary Centre for Advanced Technologies for Healthcare (CATcH).

Ryan’s personal research is centered on design and physicochemical characterisation of advanced polymeric drug delivery systems for ransdermal and intradermal drug delivery, with a strong emphasis on improving patient outcomes. He is currently developing a range of novel microneedle technologies through independent research, but also in collaboration with several major pharma partners. He has obtained substantial UK Research Council, charity and industrial funding and authored over 600 peer-reviewed publications (H-index = 85), including 6 patent applications, 6 textbooks, 23 book chapters and approximately 300 full papers. He has been an invited speaker at numerous national and international conferences.

Professor Donnelly is Europe/Africa Editor of Drug Delivery & Translational Research and a member of the Editorial Board of Journal of Controlled Release. He is a Director-at-Large of the Controlled Release Society. He has won Visit Belfast’s Ambassador Award for Life and Health Sciences (2022), the Academy of Pharmaceutical Science’s Innovative Science Award (2020), the Controlled Release Society’s Young Investigator Award (2016), BBSRC Innovator of the Year (2013), the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists Pharmaceutical Research Meritorious Manuscript Award (2013 & 2022), the GSK Emerging Scientist Award (2012) and the Royal Pharmaceutical Society’s Science Award (2011).

Speaking on his appointment as incoming Chair of APS, Professor Donnelly said “I am honoured to be given the responsibility of leading APS for the next two years and building on the excellent work of my two most immediate predecessors Hannah Batchelor and Jo Craig. In particular, I look forward to building on the already strong relationships with our partner organisations in Europe, APGI, APV and ADRITELF and the Royal Pharmaceutical Society.